Dig deep into 70`s Elvis: the concerts, jumpsuits and all available live tapes.

Fifth Time Around: March 20, 1974 ES announced by Audionics

Mon May 30, 2011 9:17 pm

AUDIONICS 2011-01-2

The legendary March 20th, 1974 Memphis, TN concert has been released on a number of occasions, beginning with RCA's original 1974 LP edit with artificial applause mixed in. In 1994, a more complete, unofficial version was issued by " Fort Baxter". It was, however, a patchwork from several different sources incl. many tracks taken from the original RCA LP with overdubs. In 1997, "Steamroller Blues" was issued in pristine quality on "Platinum - A Life In Music". Finally in 2004, BMG's "Follow That Dream" the Elvis collectors label reissued this show nearly complete, in a beautiful deluxe package. But was it the definitive release? For die-hard fans it wasn't, and some viewed it as a letdown. Parts of the dialogues, introductions and even the false start of "Help Me" were omitted, and many have complained about the sound and mixing. Clearly, too much compression and artificial reverb had been applied.

Well, at long last this legendary set is now truly complete, and without the audio choices made by FTD several years ago. Audionics worked with a DAT copy of an original, rough mix tape "as recorded at the Coliseum". Every bit was carefully enhanced in a renowned studio to achieve the best possible quality for your optimal listening pleasure. We hope that you enjoy the results.

No remixing. No noise reduction. No edits. No artificial reverb or other added effects. No heavy compression. Just a pure, raw and natural sound. The King back in his hometown Memphis, on the 20th anniversary of his first release "That’s All Right Mama". Elvis was in great form for this recording, and now, for the first time, you can enjoy the excellence of his performance that night in the best-ever sound!

This CD will be released in digipack accompanied by 20-page booklet with many photos from the concert and an interesting essay.

For many, this concert remains the definitive, mid-70s document of The Elvis Presley Show. And that's all right. If you are not satisfied with previous releases of this show, don't miss your chance to obtain this alternate version as provided by Audionics. A decision you will not regret!

01. Introduction: Also Sprach Zarathustra
02. C. C. Rider
03. I Got A Woman / Amen
04. Love Me
05. Tryin' To Get To You
06. All Shook Up
07. Steamroller Blues
08. Teddy Bear / Don't Be Cruel
09. Love Me Tender
10. Long Tall Sally / Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On / Your Mama Don't Dance / Flip, Flop And Fly / Jailhouse Rock / Hound Dog
11. Fever
12. Polk Salad Annie
13. Why Me, Lord
14. How Great Thou Art
15. Suspicious Minds
16. Introduction of vocalists, band, orchestra, engineers, Ed Bonja
17. Blueberry Hill / I Can't Stop Loving You
18. Help Me (with false start)
19. An American Trilogy
20. Let Me Be There (with reprise)
21. My Baby Left Me
22. Lawdy Miss Clawdy
23. Funny How Time Slips Away
24. Can't Help Falling In Love
25. Closing Vamp / Announcements.

Tracks 06-09, 11, 12, 15, 16 and 23 omitted from official 1974 RCA release.
Track 03 edited on official 1974 RCA release.
Tracks 16, 18 edited on official 2004 FTD release.

Approx. running time: 68:59

Re: Fifth Time Around: March 20, 1974 ES announced by Audio

Mon May 30, 2011 9:29 pm

I'm not particularly excited about it.

But that's just me.

Re: Fifth Time Around: March 20, 1974 ES announced by Audio

Mon Jun 13, 2011 9:35 am

This release may surprise some people.

Re: Fifth Time Around: March 20, 1974 ES announced by Audio

Wed Aug 17, 2011 2:37 pm

drjohncarpenter wrote:This release may surprise some people.

In what way doc. ?
I want to buy it but i`m not sure.