Off Topic Messages

Don't Hold Your Breath

Wed May 03, 2006 7:41 pm

So David Blaine is going to try to hold his breath for 9 minutes..............

The current record is 8:58.

But he will be escaping from chains at the same time !

Of course, if oxygen is inhaled beforehand, the breath can be held for around 15 minutes.

So how do we know people trying to break the record haven't used oxygen ?

Judges from the AIDA attend to ensure all is above board.

Without their presence, any record-breaking will not be official.

Blaine hasn't mentioned they are coming to his attempt.

It figures.

Re: Don't Hold Your Breath

Wed May 03, 2006 10:39 pm

ColinB wrote:Of course, if oxygen is inhaled beforehand, the breath can be held for around 15 minutes.

Well, I've been holding my breath for almost 2 years waiting for this guy's 15 minutes of fame to expire.

Tom

Wed May 03, 2006 11:26 pm

agreed..he is tiresome, during his stunt in London the best thing was the hecklers pelting his box with eggs...not as interesting as he thinks to most people Im guessing.

Tue May 09, 2006 3:21 pm

He failed to break the 8:58 record.

Got his hands free from the chains, but failed to get his feet clear.

Seeing him in difficulty, two stand-by divers pulled him out after 7 minutes or so.

Tue May 09, 2006 4:24 pm

I hate to tell you this ColinB but it's all fake, it's an illusion! No way was he going to break that record. I watched the last hour of the show. I'm curious, if this happened all over the nation/world, but just right when the divers jumped into the tank my TV became a little scrambled and went black for just a split second. Then they show all the commotion in the tank and them pulling him out. I'm sure he had a good payday from the advertisers for all this, they have been pushing the special for a couple of weeks now pretty heavy.

JEFF d
EP fan

Tue May 09, 2006 4:42 pm

JEFF d wrote:I hate to tell you this ColinB but it's all fake, it's an illusion!