Anything about Elvis
More than 100 Million visitors can't be wrong

Moderators: Moderator5, Moderator3, FECC-Moderator, Site Mechanic

Topic author
JamesVRoy
Registered for: 18 years 7 months

Broken Strings and Hecklers

Post by JamesVRoy »

On one of the pages of the site I wrote about Elvis' 68 J200 and him breaking a string and throwing it during a show in Springfiled, MA in 1975. I received a couple of emails from another fan in attendance in Springfield that evening that offered another "interesting" recollection of the event and I quoted it here and added it to the page.
http://scottymoore.net/ep68J200.html
Hi James,
In regards to the Springfield Civic Center incident regarding Elvis Presley’s guitar throwing episode that I just saw on your web site, I was sitting in row A directly in front of the woman who got the guitar. I went to the show with my friend Peter Robare and his wife. I was a poor student at U-Mass Amherst then!!!
I can tell you that Elvis was not upset over a broken string. A man about 6 rows over from us was heckling Elvis all night. He said something very very obnoxious that finally set Elvis off. I usually do not quote obnoxious stuff, but I want to set the record straight. The man after screaming at Elvis finally yelled, “Elvis, my wife would have been here to go to the concert but she had to take a sh** instead”.

Elvis then turned around and whipped the guitar at him. The guitar hit the metal bar and bounced over my head (I was in Row A and the bar was right in front of me). It was then grabbed by the 2 people sitting right behind me. The neck was cracked, but looked repairable. The scowl that Elvis gave to the guy who was heckling him was something I will never forget!! I can tell you that Elvis really threw that guitar hard because it literally bounced over my head.