Anything about Elvis
More than 30 Million visitors can't be wrong

My Way

Wed Jun 29, 2005 9:11 pm

Is there a studio version of My Way and if so, what CD is it on? Thanks.

Wed Jun 29, 2005 9:16 pm

Well, I can help you with half of that question: Yes there is, but I don't know what "source" you can find it on, have to check out my collection but as I can remember you aren't missing out on much.

Wed Jun 29, 2005 9:33 pm

I'm pretty sure its on the 70's box set. At least the version on there is listed as "Master". I'm not an expert on these things so may be wrong.

Wed Jun 29, 2005 9:38 pm

It was released for the first time on "Walk a mile in my shoes-70s box-5cd" 10 years ago.........it was also released on the "Elvis by the presleys" cd last month.

Wed Jun 29, 2005 10:14 pm

There's a German audiophile CD from Zounds that actually managed to clean up the tape hiss on the studio version of "My way" (which BMG for some reason was unable to accomplish on the 70's set).

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/ ... 62-2572931

Mya Way

Wed Jun 29, 2005 10:19 pm

Thanks to all for your help.

Re: My Way

Wed Jun 29, 2005 10:27 pm

706UNION wrote:Is there a studio version of My Way and if so, what CD is it on? Thanks.

There is in fact a studio version though no master take was recorded (the one released on Walk A Mile In My Shoes actually was declared "master" almost 25 years after Elvis recorded it).

thenexte wrote:There's a German audiophile CD from Zounds that actually managed to clean up the tape hiss on the studio version of "My way" (which BMG for some reason was unable to accomplish on the 70's set).

Like Steve Hoffman says (I assume you know him ;) ): "Tapes hiss is our friend. If we don't hear it, something's wrong..."

Wed Jun 29, 2005 11:12 pm

Why do you suggest there was no master take at the time?

(June 10 1971). According to Ernst - page 335, paragraph 2, lines 14/15 "The master was shelved;"